cascardo/kernel/old_slides/.git
11 years agoAdded functions to move memory to and from user space. class
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sat, 15 May 2010 11:44:42 +0000 (08:44 -0300)]
Added functions to move memory to and from user space.

11 years agokmem_cache_t was removed.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sat, 15 May 2010 11:44:25 +0000 (08:44 -0300)]
kmem_cache_t was removed.

11 years agoSome memory management/allocation stuff.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Wed, 9 Dec 2009 10:19:07 +0000 (08:19 -0200)]
Some memory management/allocation stuff.

11 years agoThe process of building linux.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Wed, 9 Dec 2009 10:18:43 +0000 (08:18 -0200)]
The process of building linux.

11 years agoAdded some memory allocation and concurrency basics.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 10:49:28 +0000 (08:49 -0200)]
Added some memory allocation and concurrency basics.

11 years agoAdded some introduction to memory allocation and concurrency.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 10:41:49 +0000 (08:41 -0200)]
Added some introduction to memory allocation and concurrency.

11 years agoSome more about implementing simple character devices.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 05:08:01 +0000 (03:08 -0200)]
Some more about implementing simple character devices.

11 years agoRename posix presentation again.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 05:01:00 +0000 (03:01 -0200)]
Rename posix presentation again.

11 years agoRevert "Traduzido para o português."
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 05:00:26 +0000 (03:00 -0200)]
Revert "Traduzido para o português."

This reverts commit 07e42265974da64efdb139647780b3f133590374.

11 years agoFile structures.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 04:59:53 +0000 (02:59 -0200)]
File structures.

11 years agoLinux versioning and code layout.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 04:51:45 +0000 (02:51 -0200)]
Linux versioning and code layout.

11 years agoMoved operating systems into introduction.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 04:48:11 +0000 (02:48 -0200)]
Moved operating systems into introduction.

11 years agoMove recommendations into introduction.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 04:47:03 +0000 (02:47 -0200)]
Move recommendations into introduction.

11 years agoChange the order of memory management to come before concurrency.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 04:45:58 +0000 (02:45 -0200)]
Change the order of memory management to come before concurrency.

11 years agoCourse plan/summary.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 04:41:22 +0000 (02:41 -0200)]
Course plan/summary.

11 years agoSeems more like a class plan now.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 03:53:55 +0000 (01:53 -0200)]
Seems more like a class plan now.

11 years agoIgnore generated files.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 02:49:41 +0000 (00:49 -0200)]
Ignore generated files.

11 years agoRemove vrb files.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 02:44:19 +0000 (00:44 -0200)]
Remove vrb files.

11 years agoThe VFS layer, struct file_operations, struct file and struct inode.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 02:24:21 +0000 (00:24 -0200)]
The VFS layer, struct file_operations, struct file and struct inode.

11 years agoMoved POSIX course to its own directory, independent of VFS.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 02:21:36 +0000 (00:21 -0200)]
Moved POSIX course to its own directory, independent of VFS.

11 years agoShould we do board/machine files?
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 00:10:06 +0000 (22:10 -0200)]
Should we do board/machine files?

11 years agoModule parameters.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sun, 6 Dec 2009 02:10:34 +0000 (00:10 -0200)]
Module parameters.

11 years agoWhen doing emphasis, do not output newlines.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sun, 6 Dec 2009 01:28:43 +0000 (23:28 -0200)]
When doing emphasis, do not output newlines.

11 years agoTell about MODULE_LICENSE and taint.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sun, 6 Dec 2009 01:25:44 +0000 (23:25 -0200)]
Tell about MODULE_LICENSE and taint.

11 years agoFix presentation build.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sun, 6 Dec 2009 01:25:29 +0000 (23:25 -0200)]
Fix presentation build.

11 years agoprintk.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sun, 6 Dec 2009 01:20:26 +0000 (23:20 -0200)]
printk.

11 years agoWe build the module after writing it.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sun, 6 Dec 2009 01:17:51 +0000 (23:17 -0200)]
We build the module after writing it.

11 years agoInit and Exit functions.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sun, 6 Dec 2009 01:17:04 +0000 (23:17 -0200)]
Init and Exit functions.

11 years agoCharacter devices.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sun, 6 Dec 2009 01:10:11 +0000 (23:10 -0200)]
Character devices.

11 years agoChar devices numbers.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sun, 6 Dec 2009 01:06:43 +0000 (23:06 -0200)]
Char devices numbers.

11 years agoModule macros and tools.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sun, 6 Dec 2009 01:06:23 +0000 (23:06 -0200)]
Module macros and tools.

11 years agoRename POSIX calls presentation to VFS.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 23:42:09 +0000 (21:42 -0200)]
Rename POSIX calls presentation to VFS.

11 years agoSome recommendations.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 23:40:22 +0000 (21:40 -0200)]
Some recommendations.

11 years agoOperating Systems Functions.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 23:37:22 +0000 (21:37 -0200)]
Operating Systems Functions.

11 years agoSome more about modules.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 23:33:40 +0000 (21:33 -0200)]
Some more about modules.

11 years agoRemove temporary verbatim output from pdflatex.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 23:29:05 +0000 (21:29 -0200)]
Remove temporary verbatim output from pdflatex.

11 years agoShow how to build an out-of-tree module.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 23:28:51 +0000 (21:28 -0200)]
Show how to build an out-of-tree module.

11 years agoMake screen elements output as verbatim sections.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 23:28:05 +0000 (21:28 -0200)]
Make screen elements output as verbatim sections.

11 years agoChange frame generation in beamer xlst.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 23:27:27 +0000 (21:27 -0200)]
Change frame generation in beamer xlst.

This will allow us to include verbatim sections in our presentation.

11 years agoHello world introduction.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 22:08:14 +0000 (20:08 -0200)]
Hello world introduction.

11 years agoMechanism and policy.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 21:47:58 +0000 (19:47 -0200)]
Mechanism and policy.

11 years agoLinux is modular.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 21:39:19 +0000 (19:39 -0200)]
Linux is modular.

11 years agoOutdated book and interfaces.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 20:25:01 +0000 (18:25 -0200)]
Outdated book and interfaces.

11 years agoLinux interfaces evolution.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 17:05:28 +0000 (15:05 -0200)]
Linux interfaces evolution.

11 years agoLookup for latex def files in parent directory.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 16:46:16 +0000 (14:46 -0200)]
Lookup for latex def files in parent directory.

11 years agoSome topics to study about modules.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 16:40:25 +0000 (14:40 -0200)]
Some topics to study about modules.

11 years agoTODO: show a graphic of Linux's growth.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 15:25:06 +0000 (13:25 -0200)]
TODO: show a graphic of Linux's growth.

11 years agoLinux is written mostly in C.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 15:22:56 +0000 (13:22 -0200)]
Linux is written mostly in C.

11 years agoMore of the intro and basics.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 15:16:56 +0000 (13:16 -0200)]
More of the intro and basics.

11 years agoAdded introduction slides.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 15:16:26 +0000 (13:16 -0200)]
Added introduction slides.

11 years agoCreate Makefile for hello world directory.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 14:21:09 +0000 (12:21 -0200)]
Create Makefile for hello world directory.

11 years agoWhat you should have in mind when writing kernel code. pt
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 13:52:56 +0000 (11:52 -0200)]
What you should have in mind when writing kernel code.

11 years agoMore about the first class, including building linux and kernel/user space.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 13:05:00 +0000 (11:05 -0200)]
More about the first class, including building linux and kernel/user space.

11 years agoRaise fops as the main structure in linux.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Thu, 3 Dec 2009 19:34:31 +0000 (17:34 -0200)]
Raise fops as the main structure in linux.

11 years agoSome more concepts and advises.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Thu, 3 Dec 2009 19:12:10 +0000 (17:12 -0200)]
Some more concepts and advises.

11 years agoSome module basics.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Thu, 3 Dec 2009 15:38:17 +0000 (13:38 -0200)]
Some module basics.

11 years agoConsider debugfs as an option for debugging.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Wed, 2 Dec 2009 01:22:40 +0000 (23:22 -0200)]
Consider debugfs as an option for debugging.

11 years agoMore intro from reading the book.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Wed, 2 Dec 2009 00:14:48 +0000 (22:14 -0200)]
More intro from reading the book.

11 years agoSome little additions to introduction.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Tue, 1 Dec 2009 17:38:48 +0000 (15:38 -0200)]
Some little additions to introduction.

11 years agoA class plan sketch.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Tue, 1 Dec 2009 12:08:48 +0000 (10:08 -0200)]
A class plan sketch.

11 years agoTraduzido para o português.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Tue, 1 Dec 2009 11:08:23 +0000 (09:08 -0200)]
Traduzido para o português.

11 years agoPut character devices allocation in its own foil. master
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Tue, 1 Dec 2009 10:54:11 +0000 (08:54 -0200)]
Put character devices allocation in its own foil.

11 years agoDevice types and char device registering.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Tue, 1 Dec 2009 10:53:05 +0000 (08:53 -0200)]
Device types and char device registering.

11 years agoLinux is modular.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Tue, 1 Dec 2009 10:52:51 +0000 (08:52 -0200)]
Linux is modular.

11 years agoThe ioctl system call.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Tue, 1 Dec 2009 10:52:22 +0000 (08:52 -0200)]
The ioctl system call.

13 years agoThe lseek system call.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Wed, 7 May 2008 11:53:25 +0000 (08:53 -0300)]
The lseek system call.

13 years agoAdded close, read and write system calls.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Wed, 7 May 2008 11:47:41 +0000 (08:47 -0300)]
Added close, read and write system calls.

13 years agoFix use of _ in latex
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Wed, 7 May 2008 11:39:18 +0000 (08:39 -0300)]
Fix use of _ in latex

13 years agoDocument system calls and the open call.
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Tue, 6 May 2008 21:08:10 +0000 (18:08 -0300)]
Document system calls and the open call.

13 years agoThe very beginning of the course
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Tue, 6 May 2008 20:47:53 +0000 (17:47 -0300)]
The very beginning of the course

13 years agoContent in Portuguese in text format
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Tue, 6 May 2008 20:47:39 +0000 (17:47 -0300)]
Content in Portuguese in text format

The content of the course, market, goals and a little introduction to
sell to clients.

13 years agoInfrastructure to build slides
Thadeu Lima de Souza Cascardo [Tue, 6 May 2008 20:46:43 +0000 (17:46 -0300)]
Infrastructure to build slides

Makefile, XSLT file and Latex UTF* defs needed to build a docbook-slide
into a PDF using Latex Beamer.